1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie installs X11 10.3.9 and GIMP, but GIMP says 'no X11'

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by production, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. production

    production New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm a newbie in Sydney Australia. I want to try GIMP. I have an old OSX, 10 3 9. I have browsed the sites, read FAQs and installed GIMP and X11 (from the original system disk, for 10 3 9)
    Presenting problem is: GIMP, when opened, says "install X11". I re-installed and got the same message. Is there an FAQ for this somewhere in the universe? Help wanted from wise GIMP wizards. Thanks.
     
  2. Oakesyboy

    Oakesyboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia.
    woot another member from aussie :)
    Just saying hi, i duno the problem tho.
     
  3. Siddharth

    Siddharth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    India
    Home Page:
    moving to mac section ;)
     
  4. MattSomethin

    MattSomethin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    school
    Location:
    Oregon
    Home Page:
    Uhm, I might suggest downloading a higher version of x11..But I am not sure because I am running 10.5.whatever number its on now.
     
  5. Dom W

    Dom W New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try getting the latest version of xQuartz - or the most recent Panther-compatible from here
     
  6. production

    production New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for replies. I am still no closer to loading GIMP. It is my guess I need to do something really obvious that everyone e;se knows. The Quartz solution beyond by humble understanding. Little cricket still seeks GIMP wisdom on how to make GIMP gallop on primitive Australian technology.
     
  7. lisanet

    lisanet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. the_emo_jedi

    the_emo_jedi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem with my 10.4.11... hopefully we can find an answer :)
     
  9. lisanet

    lisanet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ... could you be a bit more specific? Since the topic sarter has Panther and you have Tiger, you could not have the same problem.

    If you didn't install X11 already -> install it.

    http://darwingimp.sourceforge.net/guides/install_tiger/

    BTW, what about using the search function of these forums? Somethink like "install X11"?
     

Share This Page