1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to select multiple layers?

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by aeacides, May 11, 2008.

  1. aeacides

    aeacides New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys!

    I'm one of those who moved from photoshop (windows) to Gimp (Linux), and I really enjoyed it!  ;D Since everything's alright, I got a basic problem that I couldn't solve ...

    How do you select multiple layers (shift + click on layers in photoshop)? I tought it was a must, but the only way I found to do this in Gimp was to click on the little chain beside each layers ( :'( ).

    Is there any solution/script ? Probably there's another shortcut ...

    Sorry if that question has been asked before [...] but I went in Gimp's doc and didn't find any answer.

    Thanks a lot!

    Xavier
     
  2. 18541016

    18541016 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm afraid not =( The only thing you can do is link layers together, as you have already seen.

    And welcome to the forum.
     
  3. aeacides

    aeacides New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a lot :- )

    Ok I see .. well, can we script it in Python? Or you can't alter the layer system with Python script? ...

    :)

    Thanks again for your fast reply  ;)
     
  4. Siddharth

    Siddharth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    India
    Home Page:
    You cant do this currently :D
    but this is an expected feature in gimp 2.6 :p
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Hey Guys,

    i m new to GIMP and have faced the same problem of multiple layer selection. I m using 2.6, is there a solution now.

    Thanks

    Gaurav
     
  6. dzinc

    dzinc New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Indonesia
    @Gaurav
    Like 18541016 said:
    or... you can merge :-[
     
  7. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    :alien:
     
  8. Cyrilshark

    Cyrilshark Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    What would the point of selecting multiple layers be? Does it apply what you do to each layer?
     
  9. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Old topic *locking*
     
  10. Cyrilshark

    Cyrilshark Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    I'm still curious...
     
  11. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    HEY! :mad: It's got several use, but I can't think of any right now. :p
     
  12. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    if you got two separate text layers that is suposed to be 5px apart, then you lock both chains and move em both ;)
    i did it in my latest bumblebee sig ;)
     
  13. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    What about moving multiple layers up and down the layer order?
    Can you do this?
     
  14. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
  15. virtualTune

    virtualTune Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Neverland
    Home Page:
    dont we have 2.68...??
     
  16. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Yes, I guess it didn't make it.
     
  17. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    hmmmm...FencePost just wrote a script that changes ALL layers to image size.I wonder if someone could rewrite that script to select a few layers or all of them , and then act on just those layers?
    I really dont know of what use it would or could be though. :question:
     
  18. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Scripts are different, can make changes to multiple layers but you couldn't select layers. :)
     
  19. LinaNight

    LinaNight New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am raising this theme.

    Is there a way to change the scale of several layers at once?
     
  20. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    There is a script called layer groups or another called multi layer options that may do these things.

    Multi layer options - scales or crops specific layers.
    Layer Groups - moves any layers that are linked wherever you want them.
    both may be python scripts though.

    You can find them both at the gimp repository.
    http://registry.gimp.org/search/node/layers

    good luck
     

Share This Page