1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to save .gif with nice quality?

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by imKEN, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. imKEN

    imKEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there other way on saving a .gif that would give me a clearer and nicer quality than the one I have saved? I have tried saving small animation like 240x320 and it looks fine... But when I save large animation like the one I posted, it don't give me nice quality.
    Because when I save mine, my it looks like this:

    [​IMG]


    Thanks.
     
  2. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    nope, .gif indexes colors so it gets crappy ???
     
  3. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Yeah gif. has a maximum of 256 colors, there's no way to make it look better.
     
  4. imKEN

    imKEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ohw. btw thanks for the replay. :|
     
  5. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  6. imKEN

    imKEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. Trying now. :D

    *Can someone simplify this Instruction on installing the APNG plug-In?

    How to install without replacing the system libpng library

    If you have installed *patched* libpng at /usr/local/libpng,

    1. You can use pkg-config to search patched libpng.

    $ env PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/libpng/pkgconfig:$PKG_CONFIG_PATH ./configure

    2. Or, you can use --with-libpng-include=DIR and --with-libpng-lib=DIR options.

    $ ./configure \
    --with-libpng-include=/usr/local/libpng/include \
    --with-libpng-lib=/usr/local/libpng/lib

    After install, maybe you need LD_LIBRARY_PATH to search the runtime library path.

    $ env LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/libpng/lib gimp

    "Automatically Detected" does not work

    Because same as PNG is handled by PNG plug-in in the GIMP. Please select file type PNG+APNG image.
     
  7. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Try these instruction threads. =)
    http://www.gimpchat.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=212

    or here
    http://www.gimpchat.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=195 <---- Linux

    once you get it all installed correctly dl this image and open gimp.
    [​IMG]

    now open the dice image in gimp as a png-apng file.(drop down image extension type options)
    [​IMG]
    it should open in 10 layers. =)

    when you save a apng save it using this same method (the drop down menu for image file type saving)
    dont save it as a apng extension just a png and click save as animation in the popup dialog.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Awesome, thanks for the link Rod, but where do I put the file-apng.ui?
     
  9. imKEN

    imKEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. ;D

    But can I apply this on my animation above? :question:
     
  10. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    with the exe? i did that... havent tested it yet... :p :p 8O 8O :wilber:
     
  11. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    same place as your "apng.exe" file ... =)

    take note also that once you have opened at least 1 image as a png using the new png-apng save extension, you should be able to safely remove the "png.exe" file in your plugins folder.You should no longer need it.

    Do Not remove the "apng.exe" file.
     
  12. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    yes just save your animation as a png-apng as i stated above. =)
     
  13. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Awesome, it works!
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    =) great!
     
  15. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    il try it... later
     
  16. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    It's awesome!
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    nice!
    I thought i screwed up, but then i read i had to save it as png and not apng!
     
  18. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Yeah, it's annoying it doesn't get saved as it's own format. If I try and copy an animated png it only will copy one frame. I have to save to my desktop.
     
  19. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Okay, this is screwed!

    [​IMG]

    dont get the animation options up....
     
  20. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes saving without using Gimp to save it as an animation will only copy it as another one frame PNG file.
    You have to open and save AS PNG-APNG, only way to do it. Sorry David.

    Maffe same for your problem, you have to save as PNG-APNG in the drop down extension menu, then save the image as a PNG extension.Then the dialog with animation settings will pop up.

    Hopefully this plugin will be easier to use in 2.8 , or if it ever gets updated. =)
     

Share This Page