1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Installing Separate Plugin OSX

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by cbuk84, Mar 31, 2008.

1. cbuk84

cbuk84 New Member

First time post as i'm new to gimp.  I've downloaded the cmyk separate plugin but, having no experience using terminal and code i am completely lost by the readme file.  I did try pasting the instructions into terminal but to no avail as the first line displays an error of 'directory doesn't exist', when i'm sure the particular line of code is for creating a new folder.  Is there an easy way to do this without using terminal (ie creating folders in certain places?).  I would really appreciate any help on this, and with a bit of help i'm sure i could sort it.

To install the Adobe ICC profiles, unzip the AdobeICCProfiles.zip file, and
    do the following as root:
      mkdir /opt/local/iccprofiles
      cp Adobe\ ICC\ Profiles/RGB\ Profiles/* /opt/local/share/color/icc/
      cp Adobe\ ICC\ Profiles/CMYK\ Profiles/* /opt/local/share/color/icc/

This is the bit i'm having trouble getting my head around. where is the opt folder? i assume it doesnt exist and i have to enter mkdir /opt/local/iccprofiles in terminal, however this tells me the directory doesn't exist?

I appologise for my ignorance, but code really isnt my thing (especially when i cant get my head around it)

I am running osx 10.5.2 (this could again be an issue), with gimp 2.4.5

2. Auria

Auria Member

Hi,

what plugin are you trying to install? Can you give a link?