1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GIMP stroke sucks?

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by Anonymous, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    thanks for up loading that. i went back and tried again and it wouldn't work for me either.

    then i closed completely out of gimp then re-opened and it works again. i'm not sure why this happened but i'm trying to figure it out. i'm doing things in different order but no luck so far. it still working....
     
  2. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    one thing i've seen. when you ask for the stroke path dialog, be sure the paintbrush is selected and not pencil, in the pull down menu.
     
  3. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    No thats not it. Can you upload the brush you use? Im out of ideas 8O
     
  4. someguy99

    someguy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no thats not it
    Maybe 64bit problem? (lol)
     
  5. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    i'm not being a confrontational here (i was recently accused of that :) )....but could you post your exact steps from opening gimp?
     
  6. someguy99

    someguy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Lol
    1) click on gimp icon
    2) wait to start
    3) start a new image 640x400 white
    4) select paintbrush
    5) select my brush/ circle brushes or fuzzy circle brush
    6) make curvy and not only selection like above
    7) Edit -> Stroke Selection
    8 ) 'Stroke Selection' window appeared!
    9) Choose "stroke with a paint tool" , select Paintbrush
    10) do not choose "Emulate Brush Dynamics", because it aint cool
    11) click on "Stroke"
    And there we have it, a beautiful stroke from selection... or not??
     
  7. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    i see. i've been doing stroke path.

    here's something to try. in between steps 6 and 7 click: select>to path.

    then select>none. the path is still there even though you don't see it.

    now change step 7 to edit>stroke path.
     
  8. someguy99

    someguy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Whats the difference?
    I mean i see the difference, but why? ::)
    Dont tell me the selection isnt a vector
     
  9. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    good question. it might be that the selection is active. i really don't know i just noticed some time ago that stroking a path looks nicer. if i find the answer i'll post it.

    it definitely isn't a vector....there's no such thing in a raster program. ;)
     
  10. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

     
  11. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    I still think the path line is a vector.
    But this isnt important.
    My problem seems to be a bug in gimp.
     
  12. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    i thought you were seeing the results you wanted. you can try different fuzziness in your brush.

    i know it doesn't matter but any raster program like the gimp or photoshop can not make vectors. for those you need illustrator or inkscape.
     
  13. thinkle77

    thinkle77 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Right here
    hmm...
    Have you deleted all the other different sized brushes? and kept only one of the circle brushes?
     
  14. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    @ thinkle77, what? who are you speaking too? why do you ask that?

    btw i really like that sig
     
  15. thinkle77

    thinkle77 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Right here
    OH there was a third page :S oops XD
    nvm then
    Thank you
     
  16. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen

    1 POINT TO ISTAR ;D
    __


    2 POINTS TO ISTAR ;D
    __

    3 POINTS TO ISTAR ;D


    But he will only win if he goes here :

    viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6457
     
  17. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    i think i just broke the case!!

    When you have your selection go Select>to path (?)
    and then edit>stroke path

    came out clean for me :-D
     
  18. istarlome

    istarlome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lexington, ky by way of dunkirk, ny
    right, i wrote that some time ago on page two of this thread
     
  19. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    wait......
    *looking*
    okay, fine i just didnt understand that.... :p
     
  20. PhotoMaster

    PhotoMaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    Disabled Artist
    Home Page:
    This question may make a difference or it may make none at all, but it is something to check.
    3) start a new image 640x400 white
    You don't specify what the image resolution is. Is it 72 ppi (Pixels Per Inch) or 300ppi? This could potentially change the math that Gimp does in drawing the lines. Normally I would sit down and try it myself but I'm really kind of out of it.

    Greg
     

Share This Page