1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gimp problem?

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by Prototype, May 15, 2011.

  1. Prototype

    Prototype New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I recently upgraded to Snow Leopard after the latest update to X11 required it. Now whenever I launch gimp, I can't do any work. Why? All the text/letters are replaced with boxes or squares. I've restarted my computer, uninstalled and reinstalled (both gimp and X11), but I still haven't been able to solve my problem. I've provided images below to help describe my problem.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Does anyone know how to solve this problem?
     
  2. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    I am pretty sure the problem is that your OS doesn't have the Font GIMP is trying to call, the only way you could fix this is change your theme to a font that is on you OS, or download the font GIMP is trying to call, and install it system wide.
    both of those I am not sure how to do on a Mac though sorry.
     
  3. Prototype

    Prototype New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay you're being very helpful. Can you explain to me how I would do it on a windows computer? I might be able to figure out how to do it on my mac if you do. :)
     
  4. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    I would honestly suggest posting this on GIMP Chat
    Not perfectly sure how to do this on a Windows computer even lol.... a bit late here, and I used to know how to install a font system wide, but it is some crazy screwy method on Vista.

    Thats it, Computer> C: Drive>Windows>Fonts
    then just place your font there.

    First though you need to figure out which font GIMP is trying to call, which I do not know off hand.
     
  5. Prototype

    Prototype New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I figured out how to change the theme by watching a youtube video (which is how I knew what the menus said). Unfortunately it didn't work. However all day I've been researching and I've heard about changing the file gtkrc or something. I think I've found the file that determines the font for gimp but... I don't want to mess anything up.

    [​IMG]

    Any thoughts?
     
  6. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    1. Check if you can find Lucida Grande 9.8 on you pc (font folder ?)
    2. Change where it says Lucida Grande 9.8 into a font you have. (but only on the forth line)
    3. Thats all i can say...

    But as Willy sais, it happens when a program is trying to find a font, but cant find it!
    Has happend to me in word before!
     
  7. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    Maffe when it happens in word, that is more because the Word file is probably in the wrong format for your edition of word :)
     
  8. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    noh, the teacher had it on the projector, put it on the interwebz and when i download it... it crashed
     
  9. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    Yeah, what version of Word were you two using?
     
  10. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Both got '07 from school, but the license runs out in the fall... thank god my dad go 2010 cheap through his work :D
     
  11. UnconventionalT

    UnconventionalT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My suggestion? Delete Gimp, clear out your Library folder of anything Gimp related, and do a fresh install. Download Gimp from gimp.lisanet.de, and download the latest version for your computer. Also, afaik, X11 likes making problems for Gimp users, so I would also suggest switching to XQuartz, another free, but up-to-date version of X11. A new version was recently released, as well. You can download it here. <a class="postlink" href="http://xquartz.macosforge.org/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://xquartz.macosforge.org/</a>

    Also, by complete uninstall, I meant the removal of the "Gimp" folder in your Application Support folder, which can be found under "~/Library/Application\ Support/" under the name of "Gimp".
     
  12. mbgrams

    mbgrams New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Were you ever able to get this resolved I have the same issues with Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and X11 from the Snow Leopard disk. I have also tried to install the Leopard version and that did not work. Please advise. Is it the X11 version that is causing the problem or did you find a font workaround?
     
  13. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Have you tried simply changing the system font that the OS uses for all menus?
     

Share This Page