1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Entry Point Not Found

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by Skeeter, May 5, 2010.

  1. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Think he tried that D.W. But, give it a few more looks. If all else fails back up what you want to keep on another HD and wipe your computer. Sometimes stuff goes bonkers. Had to do that with a few customer's computers at my job.
     
  2. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, I'll do what you said...again...LOL. I really do appreciate your time and patience with me. I'll post back after I've done this.
    Glade didn't help at all *sniffs the air*
     
  3. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    I'm all out of ideas, and jokes.....unless your brit then I could say stop smelling the air cause it's ur stiff upper lip.



    jk!
     
  4. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    69- you are funny.

    Okay, I found this so far:http://dll.paretologic.com/detail.php/libatk-1.0-0
    It seems to be a Java issue. I must admit I had a bit of a problem updating Java the other day but finally got the new update installed. I had no idea this dll had anything to do with Java. Now to do some more searching.
    I was just thinking- in order for me to get Java updated and installed to work I had to install it to a different folder. I'm wondering if Gimp maybe doesn't know where Java is now...?
     
  5. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Hmm, could be a possibility.
     
  6. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Think I fixed my Grammar mistakes.
     
  7. Garnet1377

    Garnet1377 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    coder monkey
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Ske - sorry I couldn't help out more. ::)
     
  8. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    I find your lack of help disturbing. :p

    *force chokes Amy*
     
  9. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Stop joking around......I want my Gimp back! :D
     
  10. Omerta_69

    Omerta_69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Aye aye captain. Have you tried an system restore? Sux to have to do it for gimp to work but it may help.
     
  11. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It's too far past for a system restore, thanks anyway. I'm still working on it. I posted my question on the Java forum and some old-timer there snubbed me...said this isn't a "help" forum....Then I received a private message saying I had posted off-forum. :(
     
  12. Garnet1377

    Garnet1377 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    coder monkey
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Ske - are you able to find the dll library that is causing you problems? If not click on your little windows icon on your tool bar. In the search field type in libatk-1.0_0.dll and press ENTER. It will scan for that library, a list will appear showing you the name of that file. From there you should be able to change it. For me JAVA is a four letter word that I don't like to say - its the hardest language I've hard to learn so far and causes more problems than it's worth. Ok, I'm done whining for now.

    A system restore might work, but I'd use that as my last option.
     
  13. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    "click on your little windows icon on your tool bar"
    I don't see a Windows icon on my tool bar.
    What do I change the dll file to? Sorry to be so ignorant. I really do appreciate your expertise....and kindness :)
     
  14. Garnet1377

    Garnet1377 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    coder monkey
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    on the bottom of your screen, you see your window's ICON, it's where you click to shut off your PC. Click on it. Right there will be a search button. Enter in your DLL library.

    You can name it what ever you want. I usually add an X to the end of things so I'd change it too;
    libatk-1.0_0X.dll

    I apologize for my lack of explaining. I know what I need to do, it's just hard to explain, thanks for being patient with me!!
     
  15. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, thanks, I re-named it. Now, should I try to re-install Gimp or do I need to put a new libatk-1.0_0.dll file into the system32 folder? What I'd like to know is- what does re-naming it do?
    Thank you again
     
  16. Garnet1377

    Garnet1377 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    coder monkey
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Yes, reinstall GIMP

    http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

    For now don't download the dll file. Download GIMP, opener her up and let it rip. See if you get any error msgs.

    By renaming your file, GIMP won't search for the dll, which is what was causing the problem.

    Let me know if this works. If not I'll keep trying as best as I can. Hopefully we get this taken care of for you.
     
  17. Skeeter

    Skeeter Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It works!!!!! Oh Thank you, thank you THANK YOU!!!!!!
     
  18. Garnet1377

    Garnet1377 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    coder monkey
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Good I'm glad!!
     
  19. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Skeeter Im happy 4 you! ;D
     

Share This Page